Excuses, Excuses (Or, Why This Week’s Post is Short)

Most of our staff is out this week at the annual conference for our archives-oriented professional society, including your usual blogger, Kira (me!). I’m off “researching” food and drink one of my favorite cities (my custom google map has more places that I can eat/drink in a month, let alone in 4 days!) and discussing all things archival. Procrastinator that I can sometimes be, I wasn’t able to draft a full feature before leaving Blacksburg.

However, I can’t bring myself to skip a week. We’re coming up on the three year anniversary of “What’s Cookin’ @Special Collections!?” More on that in September. In the meantime, here’s one of the items that started the whole blog in motion (and serves as part of our header):

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This c.1880s handwritten 8 page manuscript is a copy of a late 19th century extended metaphor. It talks about the best way to find and care for a husband. I’ve written about it before on Special Collections’ other blog here (which includes a full transcript): http://vtspecialcollections.wordpress.com/2013/06/13/how-to-cook-a-husband/. You can also view the finding aid for the collection here: http://ead.lib.virginia.edu/vivaxtf/view?docId=vt/viblbv00731.xml.

Happy cooking until next week!

 

One thought on “Excuses, Excuses (Or, Why This Week’s Post is Short)

Leave a Reply

