New Guide to Culinary Resources

Procrastinating Archivist Kira here. I’m still working on a post for this week. In the meantime, I wanted to share a resource I started developing last semester. The University Libraries have begun using LibGuides, an online tool that allows us to build topic, subject, and course guides. Since I love to experiment with new toys, I created “Food & Drink History Resources @Virginia Tech (and Beyond!).” This guide combines information about online and physical collections and publications we have here at Special Collections, as well as exhibits, digital collections, and physical collections at other institutions. I’ve also included a short list of sample food blogs (with more to come!). If you’re curious about our collection, this is a fun place to start. And if you’re wondering what other academic organizations are interested in food history, you can see that, too.

This continues to be a work-in-progress, as I add new resources, blogs, information, and soon, some images. Suggestions are welcome! Here’s a screenshot teaser of the first page:

Screenshot
http://guides.lib.vt.edu/specialcollections/foodhistory
3 thoughts on “New Guide to Culinary Resources

  1. Jean B.

    When I try to access this, I get an error message. I hope this will be rectified or that a new url will be provided. (Or is it just me?)

    Thanks!

    1. Jean,
      I’m so sorry about that. We moved to a new version of LibGuides after that was posted and while I fixed the link in some places, I missed this post. Thanks for catching it. I’ve updated it and it should be working now. -Kira

Leave a Reply

